Rooting Democracy in Kenya Through an Informed Citizenry Programme

Rooting Democracy in Kenya through an Informed Citizenry – Phase II (RDP) is a five-year Programme that is anchored on Uraia’s current Strategic Plan for 2016 – 2020.  The Programme design is based on four priorities referred to as Key Focus Areas (KFAs) that Uraia will address in its interventions over this period.  The Objectives of this programme are:

  1. Facilitate citizens to embody national values and the spirit of the Constitution in the exercise of their sovereign power.
  2. Facilitate CSOs and citizens to participate in strengthening public institutions and holding public officials to account.
  3. To safeguard and strengthen devolution for improved service delivery and transformation of lives.
  4. To enhance participation of citizens in the electoral processes.
  5. To promote transparency and confidence in the management of elections.
  6. To empower citizens to elect leaders who embody the spirit and the values of the Constitution.
  7. To increase and enhance representation of historically marginalised groups and communities in governance processes.
  8. To enhance Uraia’s responsiveness to the civic needs of Kenyans.

The Implementation of RDP is carried out through the following four Pillars of Uraia.

  1. Civic Education
  2. Civic engagement
  3. Institutional Transformation
  4. Internal Capacity

The programme implementation covers all the 47 counties of Kenya.


Integrated within the main RDP are other complementary projects/initiatives aimed at enhancing goal achievement for the main programme.  The current complementary initiatives are the Gender Project and the Rapid Response Initiative.

Gender Project

Uraia implemented a Project titled “Enhancing Women’s Political Leadership in Kenya” for the period 2016 – 2018.  The project was anchored on Uraia’s KFA 3 and aimed at building the capacity of women to vie for elective and appointive positions ahead of the 2017 General Elections.   The project was implemented in nine counties in Kenya; Kwale, Kilifi, Lamu, Turkana, Baringo, West Pokot, Kisii, Nyamira and Migori.